Industrial Work Summary

Just in 3 days and, January 2012 is over! Well, I haven’t made more posts for my industrial work activities here. Anyway, I finish the industrial work this month, though so, i still have to prepare the comprehensive test for 13th grader after the industrial work. Lemme summerize all the activites I’ve done for this industrial work here 😀

The 3 months here, in this pharmacy industry  have taught me to see the stark workplace, organism, system, management, administration, and of course a laboratory atmosphere. From 3 months, I just started the more intense work in the 2nd month. Chemical analysts here must be firstly qualified, so I am not allowed to finish the routine analysis for the daily report to the manager  just like the other analysts do. But somehow it didn’t mean I did nothing! lol

I determined some parameters for the raw material and sometimes for the finished products. For instance I determined the LOD (loss on drying), Vitamin C in finished product, Qualitative identification with FT (Fourier Transform Infra-Red), assay for raw materials, just like assay for  Metformin HCl (the raw material for diabetes treatment medicine) with water-free titration using HClO4. The other analysts also taught me how to use Dissolution Disintegration Friabilitor, Karl Fischer Titrator, and Spectrophotometer.

I also visited production room, warehouse, waste treatment area, and the reagents stock room. This room is also called as “ruang api”, which in this room the expired reagents are collected to be sent to other waste management agent. Sometimes I wonder how those chemicals are destroyed ( These chemicals could be flammable, toxic, even some of them could explode if react with water or heat). That is why, this room is far from the other building. Not only the expired reagents saved here, but also the new chemical for being used are stocked here.

In production rooms, I saw the machines are ‘made in Germany and Switzerland’. The instructions for the machine are written in German language.  (See, this 2 German speaking country have an important role for manufacturing machine in our country).

In the waste management area, the waste are collected and separated based on their characteristics and type. There is a room divided in to several areas for paper waste, plastic waste, and cardboard waste. Not only dry solid waste, but the liquid waste are also separated each other. For the water waste (this include all water waste from the whole company building), it is processed by aeration and using biological treatment. (The water is sampled everyday in QC-Laboratory before it is flowed into the river)

What I couldn’t forget is the experience of using a reagent known as Pyridine!! It has a stink odor!!!

We use Pyridine for Karl Fischer method. When the first time I smelled it, it is really damned stink annoying odor came to my nose!!  (I suggest you to stay away from this reagent, wearing the mask near this reagent is important!)

So I have just finished my indusrtial work this month! This is over and the new page is open then. Danke Schon for all 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

