A Journey-interviewing foreigners (Lanjutan)

Rebekah berasal dari Nebraska. She likes nasi goreng and gado-gado. She likes reading (especially fictions), travelling  (bahkan dia dateng ke Indonesia sendirian). She studied France when she was in college. She likes Gamelan (although she can’t play it) and Prambanan. Dengan berseri-seri, she said “Indonesia is enormous.”. Dia juga sempet nanya. “Is it true Indonesia has more than 17.000 islands?”. I think, Rebekah is so impressed with this country.

Selama 1 jam itu, nggak cuma saya sama Natasha yang bawel, tapi Rebekah juga banyak cerita tentang pengalamannya.

Rasanya nggak mau beranjak dari tempat duduk pas lagi nyantai ngobrol sama Rebekah. She is so nice and friendly.  Ya paling saya beberapa kali kehabisan kata-kata pas ngobrol sama Rebekah. Tapi it’s fine Rebekah keliatan nikmatin banget pembicaraan kita.

Di tengah-tengah interview itu, saya juga cerita sama Rebekah kalo saya sama temen saya itu orang orang Batak. We’re Bataknese. Saya sama Natasha cerita kalo di suku Batak itu sendiri  ada beberapa jenis Batak, contohnya aja saya sama Natasha, Natasha dari Karo saya campuran Toba sama Simalungun. Terus saya cerita sedikit soal Danau Toba dan patung Sigale-Gale yang ada di pulau Sumatra. Saya cerita kisah patung sigale-gale dan tari tor-tor. We recommended her to visit North Sumatra. Nggak Cuma itu kita juga recommend her to visit Bandung, Manado, dan Lombok.

Rebekah juga mencurahkan isi hatinya. Rebekah ngasih beberapa masukan penting buat tourism.

She said she hardly found Information in English. Yang bikin dia dan kebanyakan turis asing di Indonesia kebingungan buat ngedapetin informasi waktu mereka harus muter-muter, terutama buat masalah transportasi.

Once when she wanted to take a train in a station, she asked a locket keeper what time she could buy ticket for the train. But the man was confused and then he just wrote in a small paper the time for Rebekah to come to the station again the next day. She followed what the man wrote. The next day she came even earlier than the time informed. Apparently the man wrote the wrong time. Then she had to wait for the next train and the ticket price was more expensive.

Rebekah just laughed when she told her funny experience. She said “For me, the price is not big deal but as a tourist I have limited time to stay here. I can’t spend time just to wait the wrong schedule.”

 When I tell people what I felt, they may say it’s my fault not to understand Bahasa and I realize that. But I am tourist here. I just understand the basic for Bahasa. Then she suggested “Why don’t they write information in two languages, just like when I went t to Thailand. When I came to a restaurant they wrote the table menu in Thai and in English. So, it’s easier to do what tourists want to do. That’s why many tourists prefer visiting Thailand to Indonesia. “

Rebekah also said, “Indonesia is very potential for tourism. It’s unfair to get benefit in one side only. We come here to visit Indonesia. So, can the tourism give profits to both sides?”

Dari cerita Rebekah, saya rasa masukannya cukup bagus. Bahasa Inggris kan bahasa dunia. Bayangin aja kalo kita kita ngalamin kaya Rebekah di negara lain. Mungkin kita diajarin pas pelajaran Bahasa Indonesia, buat berbicara sama turis asing pake Bahasa Indonesia (saya stuju banget). Contoh gampangnya aja buat ngajak turis asing ngomong Bahasa Indonesia, misalkan dari ngasih salam. Jangan “Good Morning” dan good good lainnya terus , kan bisa kita yang mulai dengan “Selamat Pagi, Selamat Malam, dan selamat lainnya” hhe.. Gimana kalau dua bahasa  itu (inggris dan Indonesia) dipopulerkan bersama? Terutama di tempat-tempat umum.

Banyak hal yang sebenernya kita obrolin selama 1 jam. Di akhir interview saya sama temen saya Natasha foto bareng sama Rebekah. The last I said “Can I hug you?”  Rasanya pengen bawa Rebekah pulang dan berbagi cerita sama dia.

Saya udah siapin kenang-kenangan buat para turis yang bakal diwawancarain, ya yang gampang dibuat aja, kaya pembatas buku. (liat gambarnya)

When I gave that to Rebekah, she was so happy! And Rebekah, you could speak the sentence well, “Selamat Datang di Indonesia”!

“Welcome to Indonesia, Rebekah!!

Leave a Reply

